Spring Fancy–The Biggest Week in American Birding

Alfred Lord Tennyson said in Locksley Hall that “In the Spring a livelier iris changes on the burnish’d dove; In the Spring a young man’s fancy lightly turns to thoughts of love.” For birders, in the spring, a birder’s fancy lightly (or not so lightly!) turns to thoughts of migration. As I sit in an airport writing this I am en route to the South Shore of Lake Erie for Spring migration. Visions of beautiful warblers that I have seen in previous years are, quite literally, dancing–as well as flying and chirping–in my head. Who wouldn’t become almost delirious at the thought of seeing these beauties?

Prothonotary Warbler

Prothonotary Warbler.

The Biggest Week in American Birding

Northern Parula

The Biggest Week in American Birding

Nashville Warbler

The Biggest Week in American Birding

Blackburnian Warbler

The only thing better than seeing the birds is seeing all my wonderful birder friends. I just can’t wait!

4 Comments

May 7, 2015 · 9:27 am

4 responses to “Spring Fancy–The Biggest Week in American Birding

  1. OH My Goodness, Linda – they are all just gorgeous – couldn’t choose a favourite! Hope you’re having great birding weather.
    lizzie

  2. Cindy

    Hi Linda! Great to see a post.. You are still out there! Have a great time and take mire beautiful pictures!

Leave a comment