Hummingbirds at Sandia Crest–Part I

Recently Bosque Bill and I drove to Sandia Crest to enjoy the scenery, the wildflowers and the birds that are in the area. Sandia Crest rises to 10,600 feet above the Rio Grande Valley below, and it is an easy one-hour drive from my house in Corrales. There were fewer wildflowers than we saw last year, undoubtedly because of the lack of rainfall. The hummingbirds, however, were out in force. There were Broad-tailed Hummingbirds, Rufous Hummingbirds and a Calliope or two, although I did not get any photos of the Calliopes. Almost all of the birds that we saw were females. The males have probably already begun their migration south.

Female Broad-tailed Hummingbird, Sandia Crest, New Mexico.

Female Broad-tailed Hummingbird

Female Broad-tailed Hummingbird, Sandia Crest, New Mexico.

Female Broad-tailed Hummingbird, Sandia Crest, New Mexico.

Female Broad-tailed Hummingbirds, Sandia Crest, New Mexico.

A kerfuffle amongst the ladies.

Female Rufous Hummingbirds, Sandia Crest, New Mexico.

Incoming female Rufous Hummingbirds

Female Broad-tailed Hummingbird, Sandia Crest, New Mexico.

Female Rufous Hummingbird, Sandia Crest, New Mexico.

Female Rufous Hummingbird

These single photos do not begin to show the numbers of birds at the feeders and how active the birds are. I will show those in my next post.

12 Comments

Filed under Albuquerque birds, New Mexico birds

12 responses to “Hummingbirds at Sandia Crest–Part I

  1. These are gorgeous Linda, I love the ‘kerfuffle’ shot!

  2. These are gorgeous Linda! I love the ‘kerfuffle’ shot :-)

  3. Kerry

    Kewl like the Kerfuffle Nice series of shots on the Hummers.

  4. Nice shots Linda. They were putting on a good show for you. I like the fourth shot too :)

  5. Dawn Fine

    Woweee! I LOVE the photo with the three hummers!

  6. As usual very nice hummingbird photos, especially very close up. I know from experience how difficult these are to get. :-)

  7. I am so glad to see that it is not ‘all work & no play” Wonderful shots, thanks for sharing!

  8. Outstanding images! We only see Ruby-throated Hummingbirds in our area so it is especially delightful for me to view this terrific post. Fantastic in-flight action shots. The photograph of the three hummingbirds is awesome!

  9. Thank you all. Had such a fun time watching them that I had to be dragged away.. Happy all of you like the “Kerfuffle amongst the ladies” photo. I have video that I hope to post soon so that you will get an idea of how much activity there was around those feeders.

  10. Mary Wood

    Hi Linda:
    Love the hummingbirds! Hope all is well with you.
    Mary

Leave a Reply

