Green Jays at Laguna Atascosa NWR

One of the birds I especially wanted to see at the Rio Grande Valley Birding Festival was the Green Jay. It is not unusual to see these beautiful birds in South Texas, but they are not found elsewhere in the US.

I drove to Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge to look at shorebirds, and I was surprised and delighted to see many Green Jays there.

Laguna Atascosa NWR is a region of Texas which some call the last great habitat. Here, thorn forest intermingles with freshwater wetlands, coastal prairies, mudflats and beaches.

Here are some photos of the Green Jays:

Green Jay, Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge

Green Jay, Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge

Green Jay, Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge

These Green Jays were drinking and bathing at a water feature.

Green Jays, Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge

Green Jay, Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge

They are truly beautiful birds.

Green Jay, Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge

Here is a short video of a flock of Green Jays feeding:

29 Comments

Filed under Rio Grande Valley Birding Festival, Texas birds

29 responses to “Green Jays at Laguna Atascosa NWR

  1. Cindy

    Green with envy ;-) Beautiful birds & photos!

  2. Oh my what beautiful birds and what amazing photographs. Well done indeed!

  3. Pat

    I am SO envious! You’re in an area I’ve never birded and those jays are on the top of my wish list. Even more impressive than your jay pictures is the fact that you were driving out to look at shorebirds! He’ll be so proud!

    • You will just have to meet me at the festival next year! I now know where to go and what to see. It’s an absolutely fabulous birding area!! And yes, I went out to look at shorebirds. I even know what some of them are. I think I know, anyway. Expect a shorebird blog post in the not-too-distant future. Andrew will correct my mis-identifications, I’m sure. ;-)

  4. Wow. What a gorgeous bird. Appreciated the video.

  5. Wow Linda, wonderful photos and video! This is one bird I hope to see some day!

  6. Great photographs Linda, stunning birds!

  7. Very nice Linda! Posted the link to this on our Google+ and Facebook pages.

  8. Oh my goodness, these are especially stunning birds! Lucky you! Beautiful colors and markings. I would love to see a Green Jay. So happy I can view them on you blog. Fabulous series, Linda!

  9. Mollie (LizzieSkys)

    Fabulous colors. I live near Corpus Christi about 3 hrs north of LRGV. Once & awhile we see in our yards. Were amazed on the size of these gorgeous birds, Your photos R great. Loved the video. Thanks for posting!

  10. Love this! So incredible to see. Reminds me of Blue Jays and Budgie Parakeets rolled into one. Amazing and so glad you caught them on tape!

    • Thanks Laura. The colors on the Green Jays are just incredible! These are really big birds too–much larger than a Budgie. I was really fortunate to be able to get a video of them!

  11. Pamela Ciccone

    I love your pictures. Will show them to some co-workers They don’t know what we see as birders in SE Texas.

    • Thank you Pamela. I’m happy that you like my photos. Sometimes when people see the gorgeous birds something clicks. I love to show people why I love birds and birding. It was such fun meeting you and Chris at the RGVBF! Let’s hope for more fun meetings in the future. :)

  12. fantastic photos and birds, linda. woot!111

Leave a Reply

