Watch This Space, an Update

A short ten days ago I posted a piece called Watch This Space. If you follow the link, you will find tiny, newly hatched hummingbirds in the nest. I admit that I was negligent in following up on the chicks’ progress. Eleven days after I took those photos I had lunch with Jill, who mentioned that I should come by her house because the tiny birds were now about to fledge. I went to her house yesterday evening, and one of the chicks had already fledged, leaving one still in the nest. I was fortunate to get photos of the remaining chick.

Black-chinned Hummingbird chick

Black-chinned Hummingbird chick

Black-chinned Hummingbird chick, a closer view.

Black-chinned Hummingbird chick, a closer view.

Black-chinned Hummingbird chick, even closer.

Black-chinned Hummingbird chick, even closer.

Update: Jill called me today, August 18th, and said that she watched the chick fledge at about 10:00 a.m. today.

13 Comments

Filed under Albuquerque birds, New Mexico birds

13 responses to “Watch This Space, an Update

  1. That is a litle cutie. :-)

  2. cindy

    OMG I did miss this! Absolutely precious..!

  3. Lisa Salt

    Precious!

  4. Thanks Cindy and Lisa. It’s a darling little chick, isn’t it?

  5. Linda: I have been enjoying your wonderful series on the Hummingbirds. Amazing captures. Thank you for giving me a thrill and feeling like I’m out and about seeing wildlife. It’s “hottern’ hell” here in SW Florida so haven’t been out much :D

    Again, thank you!!!

  6. Oh my goodness! So very adorable! They grow so quickly. How fortunate for you to see this cutie soon before it fledged. Awesome images, Linda!

  7. Absolutely adorable! Great post and photos Linda!

  8. Thanks Patricia, Julie and John. That little hummingbird chick was the cutest thing ever! So much fun to get to see it. :)

  9. Shaina Niehans

    How neat! What an awesome thing to observe and photograph! :)

  10. Thanks to everyone for your comments!

Leave a Reply

