Hummingbirds at Sandia Crest–Part II

Yesterday I posted photos of individual hummingbirds at Sandia Crest. Those photos, however, do not begin to show the large numbers of hummingbirds that were at the feeders. Here are a few group photos:

Female Broad-tailed and Rufous Hummingbirds, Sandia Crest, New Mexico. Female Broad-tailed and Rufous Hummingbirds, Sandia Crest, New Mexico. Female Broad-tailed and Rufous Hummingbirds, Sandia Crest, New Mexico.

Female Broad-tailed and Rufous Hummingbirds, Sandia Crest, New Mexico.

I took this short video of the hummingbirds skirmishes at the feeders. I hope you enjoy it.

I hope to do one more blog post on this trip to Sandia Crest which will show the lovely scenery and views from the area.

View of the tram at Sandia Crest

Update: I have posted photos and commentary on my walk up to Sandia Crest on my Photo Flurries blog.

4 Comments

Filed under Albuquerque birds, New Mexico birds

4 responses to “Hummingbirds at Sandia Crest–Part II

  1. Lisa Salt

    Oh Linda, they are so sweet. Wonderful! I just have to see some of these! Thank you for sharing :-)

  2. Oh my goodness! I have never seen so many hummingbirds before … and I thought we had a lot of tiny visitors at our feeders. What an awesome experience for you to view all of them feeding together. Terrific images, as usual! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Maki T

    Awesome photos & videos! Love the way they kind of hover and perch at the same time feeding form the feeder.

  4. Thanks Lisa, Julie and Maki. I could have spent the entire day watching those little hummingbirds at the feeders. :)

Leave a Reply

