Watch This Space

My friend Jill called me this weekend to say that she has a hummingbird nest with baby hummingbirds at her house. I went over to see them and found the nest in a Chinese pistache tree. The nest is a bit smaller than a golf ball.

Black-chinned Hummingbird nest, Los Ranchos de Albuquerque

Black-chinned Hummingbird nest

A closer look revealed two tiny hummingbird chicks in the nest.

Black-chinned Hummingbird chicks, Los Ranchos de Albuquerque

Black-chinned Hummingbird chicks

On the way home I saw these beautiful lilies. They have nothing to do with a post about hummingbird chicks, but they were lovely!

Lilies, Los Ranchos de Albuquerque

Lilies, Los Ranchos de Albuquerque

If the hummingbird chicks thrive I will be posting periodic updates of their progress. Watch this space.

10 Comments

Filed under Albuquerque birds, New Mexico birds, New Mexico scenery

10 responses to “Watch This Space

  1. It will be fun to watch the little ones’ progress. And that Lily is a beautiful thing.

  2. Look forward to the updates, and yes, they are beautiful lilies :-)

  3. Look forward to the updates, and yes, the lilies are beautiful!

  4. Thanks Lisa. I hope the nest is successful. Keeping my fingers crossed!

  5. Lovely little nest! So very downy. I’m looking forward to your future hummingbird nestling updates! We probably have over 25 hummingbirds visiting our feeders. I am forever searching for hummingbird nests on our property, to no avail. I’m hoping your friends tiny Black-chinned hummers do well. Pretty lillies!

  6. Awww…saw-weet!! Such a tiny little nest with itty bitty hummers inside!! I pray they thrive!

  7. FIngers crossed for the little ones. I’m hoping to see lots of photos!

Leave a Reply

