My Great Backyard Bird Count

For a number of years I have been pleased to participate in the Great Backyard Bird Count, an annual four-day event where bird watchers of all ages count birds to create a snapshot of where birds are across the continent.

Beginning on Friday of this year I began submitting my lists. On Sunday morning I set out to make another observation, and I was surprised to see no birds. Upon looking around a bit, I discovered that in fact I had ONE bird:

Red-tailed Hawk

Red-tailed Hawk on a power pole at the corner of my acre.

This handsome and imposing bird had apparently caused all the smaller birds to seek cover.

Red-tailed Hawk looking for prey.

Red-tailed Hawk looking for prey.

I usually see Gambel’s Quail, Western Scrub Jays, House Finches, White-Winged Doves, American Goldfinches, Lesser Goldfinches, Spotted Towhees, House Finches, Dark-eyed Juncos, Red-shafted Northern Flickers, Ladder-backed Woodpeckers, Curve-billed Thrashers, White-crowned Sparrows, Greater Roadrunners and Common Ravens around my house this time of year. Today I saw only a hawk.

This Red-Tailed Hawk has sent the other birds into hiding!

This Red-Tailed Hawk has sent the other birds into hiding!

I had gradually approached the bird to take some photos, and he took exception to my approaching so near.

The hawk spots a photographer.

The hawk spots a photographer.

The hawk flew from its perch …

Red-tailed Hawk in flight.

Red-tailed Hawk in flight.

… coming quite close to me at one point.

Red-tailed Hawk

Red-tailed Hawk

The hawk allowed me one more good look …

A beautiful hawk.

A beautiful hawk.

… before it turned to fly south …

Red-tailed Hawk turns south.

Red-tailed Hawk turns south.

…showing me a flash of red …

Red-tailed Hawk.

A flash of red.

… as it flew away.

Red-tailed Hawk

Adios.

Within five minutes all the usual birds were back at their feeders. I resumed my bird count, with the addition of one Red-tailed Hawk.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Comments

Filed under Corrales birds, New Mexico birds

5 responses to “My Great Backyard Bird Count

  1. hee hee..so that was the One Bird! Glad you were able to put it in your count!

  2. Wow, fantastic images! You were able to get so close. What a sight!

  3. Kerry

    Nice like these guys. Fierce

Leave a Reply

