Bosque del Apache Landscapes

I love going to Bosque del Apache National Wildlife Refuge. I feel very fortunate to live close enough that I can be there in about an 1 1/2 hours, which means that I can go there almost any time that I want to go. Usually I concentrate on photographing birds. Last weekend Bosque Bill and I went there, and I decided to take some photos to show what a beautiful place it is. There will still be birds, of course.

Looking east from the Flight Deck.

Looking east from the Flight Deck.


Looking to the west across the crane pools.

Looking to the west across the crane pools.


Looking to the east on the Farm Loop.

Looking to the east on the Farm Loop.


Looking to the east across the Farm Pond.

Looking to the east across the Farm Pond.


Looking to the northwest as the snow geese fly overhead.

Looking to the northwest as the snow geese fly overhead.


Waves of Snow Geese fly over the fields at Bosque del Apache.

Waves of Snow Geese fly over the fields at Bosque del Apache.


One of the crane pools at dusk.

One of the crane pools at dusk.


Sandhill Cranes and Snow Geese fly in at sunset.

Sandhill Cranes and Snow Geese fly in at sunset.

Sandhill Cranes fly in at sunset.

Sandhill Cranes fly in at sunset.


Sunset at Bosque del Apache National Wildlife Refuge.

Sunset at Bosque del Apache National Wildlife Refuge.


A view of sunset over the crane pools at Bosque del Apache.

A view of sunset over the crane pools at Bosque del Apache.

_________________________________________________________________________________________

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

13 Comments

Filed under Bosque del Apache, New Mexico birds

13 responses to “Bosque del Apache Landscapes

  1. Phylis

    Great series of photos. Especially love the sunset photos.

  2. What an amazing place to visit! So very scenic. Your photos are wonderful! Gorgeous image of the Sandhill Cranes at sunset. The waves of Snow Geese is stunning too. Outstanding post!

  3. I just have to go see Bosque Del Apache! It is on my to do list. I have friends in Las Cruces, so it will be a good excuse to go there. Great photos.
    I’m glad I came across your blog.

    Bob Zeller

    • You will definitely have to go to Bosque del Apache. It’s a nice drive from Cruces. Be sure to come in the winter when the Sandhills and the Snow Geese are here. Happy that you like the blog. :)

  4. Oh my goodness – these are amazing photographs – what a beautiful spot and the pictures of the cranes and geese! stunning – but the sunsets are even more so. Just beautiful… I guess like all the rest of your audience I’ll have to visit and see for myself. Thanks for visiting there and sharing it with us.

  5. Wonderful post! How blessed you are to live close to that spectacular place!! Love the silhouettes of the sandhill cranes. All of the shots are beautiful!!

  6. Beautiful photos..I especially like the waves of Snow Geese and the Sandhill Cranes at sunset! See u soon!

  7. That looks like a great place to spot birds. I love the shot of the geese and cranes flying in at sunset and the other one where they fill the sky. What a sight. Glad I found your blog through FB.

  8. We have decided to make a trip there sometime in the latter part of next month, February. Sometime after the 10th. Do you think the Sandhill Cranes will still be there??

    Thanks, Bob

Leave a Reply

