Sunday Photo Blogging-Corrales Weekend Birds

Yesterday was a beautiful day in Corrales. I went for a short bike ride and did a little shopping, but mostly I worked in the garden. I took my camera with me as I worked.

The Western Scrub Jays and the Curve-billed Thrashers were busy at the peanut feeder behind the house.

Western Scrub Jay

Western Scrub Jay close up


Curve-billed Thrasher


Gambel’s Quail were enjoying the shelled peanuts that I put out on the garden wall.

Gambel's Quail Adult Male and Chick.


Gambel's Quail Chicks


The hummingbird feeders were popular with the migrating hummingbirds and a few lingering residents.

Female Rufous Hummingbird


Female Rufous Hummingbird and Male Black-chinned Hummingbird


Male Black-chinned Hummingbird


Female Black-chinned Hummingbird


Should I have been concerned that there were Turkey Vultures circling overhead?

Turkey Vultures


It’s always interesting to watch the birds around my house.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

8 Comments

Filed under Corrales birds

8 responses to “Sunday Photo Blogging-Corrales Weekend Birds

  1. Lucky birds to have found your yard with all its yummy treats!

  2. Great shots Linda! Your detail is sharp. Don’t know how much work I would get done with all the lovely birds enjoying the yard. Hope you can spend more time with camera than yard work tools–great post!

  3. Wonderful captures! I love viewing your blog because your feature birds we don’t see in the Midwest … and because your photos are fabulous! The hummingbird photos are fantastic. I also love the Curved-bill Thrasher and Gambel’s Quail chicks. Great job!

  4. Beautiful shots Linda…especially the hummers. Great captures. Love quails too. Thanks!

  5. that’s a great post of bird photos. wonder how you took the closeups of those birds which may be in constant movement always.

  6. I miss my grad school days in AZ because we don’t have these birds here on the East Coast. Gorgeous photos!

  7. Wonderful post, Linda! Great captures, beautiful bird assortment!

Leave a Reply

