A Walk in the Corrales Bosque

Yesterday Bosque Bill and I took a walk in the Corrales Bosque to see if the fall migrants were beginning to come through. We saw quite a few Wilson’s Warblers, but they were too deep in the dense cottonwood foliage to get photos of them.

Common sunflowers (Helianthus Annuus) were blooming profusely along the ditch banks.

Common sunflower, Helianthis Annuus

The Western Tanagers are on their way back through New Mexico, and we saw this lovely female high in a cottonwood.

Female Western Tanager

There were many hummingbirds in the bosque. Although most of them were high in the cottonwoods feeding on insects, I was fortunate to see this female Black-chinned Hummingbird sipping from a sunflower.

Female Black-chinned Hummingbird

Western Wood-Pewees were high in the trees.

Western Wood-Pewee

We saw a very attractive bull snake sliding along the path. He got a bit grumpy when I wanted to pick him up and play with him.

Bull Snake

When we approached the Rio Grande we found Northern Pike in an area where runoff goes into the river.

Northern Pike in the Rio Grande

As we walked back along the irrigation ditch we saw a Black Phoebe hunting in the coyote willows.

Black Phoebe

We also saw a beautiful female Blue Grosbeak in this area, but my photos of her are candidates for the blurry photo contest.

On our walk back we saw many dragonflies and damselflies.

Flame Skimmer

Female Variegated Meadowhawk

Damselflies, American Bluets

It was a beautiful day for a walk in the Corrales Bosque.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

9 Comments

Filed under Corrales birds

9 responses to “A Walk in the Corrales Bosque

  1. SuziQBird

    I love your blog Linda! Such beautiful photos!

  2. what a beautiful post Linda! I felt like I was there with you!

  3. Wonderful shots Linda,
    But you know I go with the Hummer shot… :-)
    Love it… and you too :-)

  4. Birdingdude

    Excellent post and photos. After my recent trip to AZ, I could safely say that, “I know those birds” :) Thanks for sharing.

  5. What a great walk! Beautiful photos!

  6. I’m trying this again! My last comment didn’t show up. What I said was …. beautiful diversity of subjects and beautiful photos!

Leave a Reply

