The Belen Marsh

Last week I had a horrible day in court in Los Lunas, which is the county seat of Valencia County, south of Albuquerque. I lost a case I should have won. The preparation and presentation were as good as I could have possibly done. Some days the judge does not agree with you.

After a bad day in court I needed some time outdoors. The Belen Marsh is about 10 minutes from the Valencia County Courthouse, and I knew that I would feel better if I spent some time there.

John Fleck of the Albuquerque Tribune has written a nice article on the Belen Marsh, which is located right next to a Taco Bell and is sometimes known as the Taco Bell Marsh, and Ryan Beaulieu, the young man who is credited with discovering the Belen Marsh and bringing it to the attention of the birding public.

When I arrived at about 5:30 p.m. it was cool and very windy. The first thing that I saw was a Western Kingbird sitting on the fence next to the Taco Bell. The light could not have been more wrong for a photo but still, it’s a beautiful bird.

Western Kingbird

There were many male and female Red-winged Blackbirds on the cat-tails in the marsh, and I began to feel better as I listened to their beautiful song.

Red-winged Blackbird (male)

Red-winged Blackbird (female)

There were many Black-necked Stilts walking around in the marsh. It was fun to watch them walking and picking through the marsh. I began to smile as I watched them.

Black-necked Stilt

Black-necked Stilt

Black-necked Stilt

It was even more fun to watch the Wilson’s Phalarope spinning in tight circles as they fed. As I watched them I found that I was starting to forget all about my bad day in court.

Wilson's Phalarope

Wilson's Phalarope

There were beautiful Cinnamon Teal, shy Ruddy Ducks and stately Northern Shovelers in the marsh. As I watched them swim serenely in the marsh ponds I felt the last traces of stress and anxiety slip away, and I began to truly enjoy the early evening in the marsh.

Cinnamon Teal

Cinnamon Teal

Cinnamon Teal

Cinnamon Teal

Ruddy Ducks

Ruddy Duck

Northern Shoveler

I began to prepare to return to what these days passes for civilization and noticed a group of Short-billed Dowitchers feeding near the edge of the marsh.

Short-billed Dowitchers

Watching these lovely shore birds as they fed was a wonderful conclusion to a pleasant visit. I left the Belen Marsh with my mind and spirit refreshed.

Here is a short video of Black-necked Stilts and Wilson’s Phalarope feeding in the marsh. I did not have my tripod with me and the wind was pretty fierce; still the video does show the feeding behavior of both species.
(Best viewed at 720p.)

The Belen Marsh is a small 16.5 acre “accidental” depressional wetland that occurred when a high water table in the area caused water to seep into an area that was excavated to obtain dirt for a nearby road construction project. It is a small but important birding area, and New Mexico birders appreciate the efforts of the Belen Marsh Committee, the Valencia County Fair Association and the Central New Mexico Audubon Society to maintain it as a marsh.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

10 Comments

Filed under New Mexico birds

10 responses to “The Belen Marsh

  1. @Bosque_Bill

    Gotta keep that tripod in the truck ;)

  2. Linda, what a wonderful spot. Glad your day was made right by the peace there. I just love watching the spinning behavior and although all your photos are great, just stunning is the stilt with reflection.
    Have a good rest of the week

    dan

  3. Great place to wind down from a tough day.
    I am dizzy from watching that silly Wilson’s Phalarope go round and round.
    Great pics!

  4. You must have had a lot of fun doing this!
    Isn’t it a fantastic recreation?

  5. Linda, wonderful post … as always. A walk with nature always calms the soul. I was especially captivated by the Black-necked Stilt photographs. Lovely!

  6. That is an awesome spot and great photos Linda!

  7. Nature will ease the mind every time.

  8. Wonderful photos of the Belen Marsh. I am involved with the group that is trying to preserve the marsh and will forward to others in our group.

    You might be interested in more stories about the Belen Marsh on my blog:
    http://wingandsong.wordpress.com/category/belen-marsh/

Leave a Reply

