Photo Friday

I have been in court quite a lot lately, and I have not had the opportunity to get out with my camera as much I would have liked. However, I am fortunate that my morning and evening commute takes me through a semi-rural area where I occasionally have the opportunity to photograph birds. Earlier this week I stopped by a field that was being irrigated and enjoyed watching the birds bathing and foraging in the flooded field. The Great-tailed Grackles were especially fun to watch.

Ring-billed Gulls were enjoying the irrigated field too, along with an unusual visitor for New Mexico.

Ring-billed Gulls, and an usual visitor right in the middle

I have never seen a Franklin’s Gull along Rio Grande Boulevard, and I was excited to see one.

Franklin's Gull

4 Comments

Filed under Albuquerque birds, New Mexico birds

4 responses to “Photo Friday

  1. Nice series of action shots, Linda. Love your view of the world. Thanks for sharing the NM birding landscape.

  2. @Bosque_Bill

    Thanks for the photos. Looks like fun – was that along Rio Grande Blvd?

    If you will forgive me for butting in, you might want to revisit your ID of that unusual gull. There has been a Franklin’s Gull reported recently in the area. To me the pattern at the wing tip (white tip with black, then white band) looks much more like Franklin’s than Laughing. Also, though it is hard to tell from your photo, but it looks like there is a black band near the gull’s bill tip; that is much more pronounced on the Franklin’s. Last, we are within the normal migration route for Franklin’s, but not Laughing (though they have been sighted from time to time here.)

    Still a fabulous sighting & photo and I’m jealous.

  3. Wonderful photos Linda, Love the Grackles, looks like they are having fun.

Leave a Reply

